Photographer takes Rick Santorum’s “hunger” in playful direction.

Posted on March 13, 2012

1


Let’s start with a question: What happens when you combine ingenuity, a photographer’s down time and the GOP Candidates?

You get Santorum Snacks.

(L-R) Ron Paul, Rick Santorum, Mitt Romney, Newt Gingrich from The Washington Post

Santorum Snacks is a light-hearted collection of photos posted on Tumblr — a site that lets users share anything. This assortment of photos features former Pennsylvania senator Rick Santorum from some of his many appearances during the election season. The twist derives from the keen, innovative eye of photographer Kelsey Wahowiak while researching the upcoming election.

“I work in a product photography studio, and we’ve been really slow for the past few weeks,” Kelsey said. “Because we have so much down time here, I have been reading a lot of articles on the election.”

Kelsey is a 24-year-old photography assistant at Wolverine World Wide in Rockford, Mich. She earned her BFA in Photography from Kendall College of Art and Design in Grand Rapids, Mich. last year.

"Santorum Snacks" by Kelsey Wahowiak

“I saw an article titled ‘Voters to GOP candidates:  We don’t like any of you’. I’ll be honest I didn’t read the article at all,” Kelsey admitted. “I saw the picture in it, where Rick is sitting with his other pals; with his hands out looking like he is holding an invisible sandwich. I photo-shopped a sandwich to see if it fit, and when it did, I couldn’t stop.”Santorum Snacks turns one-week-old today.

With the election drawing near, it’s time to “beware the ides of March” with the dirt-digging, mud-slinging, and TV commercials that are shoved down voter’s throats. Kelsey has shared a healthy and satisfying way to stomach today’s political agenda.

I’m Dan Williams, and I approve her message.

Posted in: Blog